Piazzale Michelangelo

522895_10150960992714740_853302521_n

After a few weeks of arriving in Florence, I decided to  journey up to Piazzale Michelangelo. This famous square promised a breathtaking panoramic view of the entire city and I couldn’t wait to check it out. Florentines, as well as study abroad students like me, had described the sight to be “the best in Firenze.”

I began my climb up the steep steps and quickly began to break a sweat. Others had suggested wearing comfortable shoes- and I was glad that I had listened. After approximately ten minutes of solid climbing, along with a few stops to catch my breath, I strode onto parallel ground. At first, all I could see were outskirts of the city; a church and a few gelato shops were visible. But then I saw a sign with an arrow pointing behind me.  I excitedly turned over my left shoulder.

Jaw-dropping. As I stood in amazement atop the historic Italian hill, I immediately became overwhelmed by the beauty I was facing. I could see all of Florence; I spotted the Duomo, nearby villages, and country side that stretched out for miles and miles. I embraced the distant hills, bright blue skies, and the  fresh air given off by the abundance of trees in sight. It was amazing. Time froze as I realized how lucky I was  to observe the world from such a beautiful point of view.

The prominent square instantly became my favorite spot in Florence, and I continued to take frequent walks up the hill during the rest of my time in Italy. The moments I spent sitting on the cobblestone steps, enjoying the natural beauty and pondering life’s questions, will always be some of my most treasured life memories. Piazzale Michelangelo inspired me to find beauty in all the blessings I have been given, and will continue to be a lasting memory from my time studying abroad.

3 thoughts on “Piazzale Michelangelo

Leave a Reply

